Pre-season: 1994 – Adios, Southwest Conference – Colorado returns 16 starters

Posts Tagged ‘Southwest Conference’

— Adios, Southwest Conference — Quick – Name the last eight members of the Southwest Conference. Not so easy, is it? Entering the 1994 season, the long-anticipated demise of the SWC became official.  The 1994 and 1995 campaigns would be the last for the storied conference.  After 80 seasons, the Southwest Conference would fold up its tents; its teams left to a new future. Arkansas, the only Southwest member outside of the state of Texas, had defected to the Southeastern Conference in 1990.  Now Texas, Texas A&M, Baylor, and Texas …